How to Disable Conversation View in Gmail

Gmail logo

gmail tries to help you navigate huge email chains by grouping replies into a single conversation thread where replies are listed sequentially. however, if you want to see each response individually, you will need to disable this option. here’s how.

turn off conversation view in gmail on windows pc or mac

To disable “conversation view” (or grouped email threads) in Gmail on your Windows 10 PC or Mac, you’ll need to do so from the Gmail website. Start by opening the gmail website in your browser and signing in.

Once you’re logged in, click the settings icon in the top right corner.

this will open the “quick settings” menu panel. scroll through the menu options and uncheck the “conversation view” checkbox at the bottom.

In Gmail

gmail will need to reload at this point, so press the “reload” button on the popup box to allow this.

Once it’s updated, your gmail inbox will change, separating each email reply from any linked email threads. Alternatively, you can disable conversation view from the main gmail settings menu.

To do this, select the settings gear icon, then click the “view all settings” option.

In the “general” tab of the gmail “settings” menu, scroll down to the “conversation view” section, then click the “conversation view off” option.

once it’s selected, scroll down and click “save changes” to confirm the change.

See Also:  How Long Does It Take To Get Stimulus In Mail

gmail will automatically reload your inbox, showing each email separate from any previously linked threads.

related: the complete guide to gmail

disable conversation view in gmail on mobile devices

If you’re using the Gmail app on your iPhone, iPad, or Android device, you can quickly turn off Conversation View in the app’s settings menu.

disable conversation view in gmail on android

To disable conversation view on android, open the gmail app and tap the hamburger menu icon in the top left corner.

from the extra menu, tap the “settings” option at the bottom.

In the Gmail app menu, tap the "Settings" option.

In the “settings” menu, you’ll see a list of the google accounts you’re signed in to.

android users will see a “general settings” option, which allows them to change settings for all accounts at once (including conversation view). touch this option if you want to disable conversation view for all logged in email accounts.

Otherwise, select one of the account’s email addresses from the list. this will only apply the change to that account, leaving conversation view enabled for other email inboxes.

In the Gmail app "Settings" menu, tap the "General Settings" option. Alternatively, tap one of the account emails listed.

In the “general settings” menu (or individual settings menu for a specific email account), scroll down and find the “conversation view” option.

touch the checkbox to disable the setting.

In the "General Settings" menu in the Gmail app (or in the individual settings menu for an email account), tap the "Conversation View" checkbox to disable the feature.

The change will take effect immediately, so tap back and return to your inbox. this will eliminate email threads and ensure that each email you receive is listed separately.

See Also:  How to Transfer iPhone Contacts to Gmail

disable conversation view in gmail on iphone and ipad

The steps to disable the conversation view in the gmail app on iphones and ipads are similar to the steps for android users, but the menus differ slightly. For example, if you’re using an iPhone or iPad, you’ll only see email accounts in the list, and you won’t be able to turn off conversation view for all accounts at once.

To get started, open the gmail app on your apple device and tap the hamburger menu icon in the top left corner.

From the menu panel, tap the “settings” option.

Tap "Settings" in the Gmail menu panel on iPhone or iPad to access the settings menu.

You’ll need to tap one of the accounts listed in the “settings” menu to turn off conversation view.

In the "Settings" menu in the iPhone and iPad Gmail app, select one of the signed in accounts listed.

In the settings menu for your chosen email account, tap the slider next to the “conversation view” option. this will disable the email thread immediately.

Tap the "Conversation View" slider in the individual email account settings in the Gmail iPhone and iPad app to disable this setting.

once the settings have changed, touch back to view your inbox. if you want to apply this change to all accounts, you will need to repeat these steps for each additional account later.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *