How to transfer emails from one gmail account to another

You’re the owner by default for files that you create in Docs, Sheets, and Slides, or upload into Drive. But, you can transfer ownership of your Google files (Docs, Sheets, and Slides) and folders to anyone you”d like, as long as that person has an email address.

You are reading: How to transfer emails from one gmail account to another

Note: If you use Google apps through work, you can”t transfer ownership to or from someone else who is outside of your domain using the process. Scroll down below to see another way to do the same. 

How to change owners

You can change who owns a file or folder in Drive.

Go to Drive or a Docs, Sheets, or Slides home screen.Open the sharing box:In Drive: Select the file or folder and click the share icon at the top 

*

.If the new owner already has edit access, skip to Step 4. Otherwise, follow these steps:Type the email address of the new owner in the “Invite people” fieldClick Share & save.Click Advanced in the bottom-right corner of the sharing box.Click the drop-down menu next to the name of the person you want to own the file or folder.Select Is owner.Click Done.

Read more: Add Or Remove An Account On Android Device, Delete A Service Or Your Google Account

You”ll have access to the file as an editor after you transfer ownership.

Things to consider before you transfer ownership

The things you’ll no longer be able to do once you transfer file ownership include:Remove others from the fileShare with as many people as you likeChange visibility optionsAllow your collaborators to change access privileges for othersPermanently delete something from Google Drive. After it’s deleted, no one can access it, including those it was shared with.When you transfer ownership of a folder from yourself to another person, the new owner of the folder becomes an editor of the files in that folder. The original owners of the files remain the owners, and if the original owner deletes a file, it”ll be removed from the folder.If your current Google Account is being deleted, transfer ownership of your files, folders, and Google files to another active account. Once the original account is deleted, you won’t be able to recover any of your files or folders from it.

READMORE:  Manage business personalization for your google account

Read more: Webmail – Gmail Uaa Login

STEP 1: As silly as it is, you can’t change the ownership of the documents within Google Drive (at least between different domains), but you can download them to your computer using Google Drive App, this effectively strips the permissions. You then need to share all the documents on your old account with your new account. 

To make this entire transfer process easier, we strongly recommend making a folder called “Migration”.

Categories: Mail

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *